Uncategorized

When it comes to writing (and Twin Peaks) patience is virtue…

Today I’m feeling pretty damn fine…

I just finished scene 22, which was a brand new scene to be slotted in amongst the others. In total for this rewrite now, I have completed 30,179 words of my 90,000 goal. This means I’m just over one third of the way done!

At the start of this year, I set a goal for myself. In the earlier versions of my book, a series of diary entries appears at the end of Act 2. By the end of 2017, I wanted to finish rewriting all of my scenes up to those diary entries. Right now, I’m 14 scenes away, so if I can get one scene finished a week (which isn’t too unreasonable), I can potentially reach my goal before the end of the year, with 6 weeks to spare! Those six weeks are wonderful to have up my sleeve because they allow for any of those unexpected interruptions life likes to throw into the mix.

This is a great feeling, because back in February I had sort of reconciled myself to not being able to write much this year at all. But now that we have our two amazing Settlement Superheroes, and David has offered to drive the kids to school two mornings a week so I can squeeze in some writing time, I am back on track, baby.

At this rate, A Whisper of Death should be finished sometime next year and I’ll be able to participate in the exciting world of pitching again 🙂 Gosh, I miss that.

I’ve set up a toolbar in the dropdown menu above, showing my progress as I rewrite A Whisper of Death. The day it finally reaches 100% will be a day for celebration! I can’t wait.

One thing I can say about writing… and David Lynch – they certainly teach you to be patient…

Standard

Leave a Reply

