Uncategorized

The hiatus is over…

And all I can say is YES!!!

Finally, after many months of not writing I am back 🙂 And it feels awesome…

I hadn’t actually realised how long it’s been since I last blogged until I checked just now. More than 16 months!!!

It’s incredible how fast time has flown…

Don’t get me wrong. I haven’t been sitting around twiddling my thumbs. I’ve been super busy.

2016 was all about work – working in our business and working on my writing.

I entered many different writing contests throughout 2016 with quite a few resulting in places. Seven, to be precise.

I was awarded first place in four contests:

Utah Chapter RWA Great Beginnings Contest – Paranormal Category

Chicago-North Chapter RWA Fire & Ice Contest – Young Adult Category

First Coast (Florida) Chapter RWA Beacon Contest – Young Adult Category

 

West Houston Chapter RWA Emily Contest – Young Adult Category

Second place in two contests:

New Mexico Chapter RWA Rebecca Contest – Young Adult Category

Chesapeake Chapter RWA Rudy Contest – Paranormal Category

And third place in one:

Missouri Chapter RWA Gateway to the Best Contest – Young Adult Category

It was certainly a boost to my confidence to receive such accolades.

And the feedback was invaluable. That is by far the best thing about contests – the insight you receive into your work by readers who are judging your writing on merit alone. They don’t know who you are, only the story you are telling.

The other thing that eclipsed my time throughout 2016, and all the way into 2017,  our business. Business boomed and it boomed big – so much so it became a 10 to 12 hours a day, 6 days a week sort of affair, which, when you have three kiddies, tends to suck the life right out of you. Well, at least any semblance of life you might have.

But there was light at the end of the tunnel. Finally after months of hard slog, we bit the bullet and hired some staff – super spectacular mind-blowingly awesome staff 🙂 And for the last few weeks I’ve actually been able to finish work at a reasonable hour, spend quality time with my stooges, and dip my toes back into the pond of literary creation.

It has been absolute heaven… 

This weekend I even completed a scene that has been hanging over my head for months now 😀

So with this newfound life-balance, I fully intend to throw myself back into my rewrite and get the thing finished.

I can’t wait to keep you updated on my progress!

Standard

Leave a Reply

