Houses, My Favourite Things

My favourite things #1: The “Baby Boom” House

The “Baby Boom” house is my favourite movie house of all time.

It seems the concept of a successful city business woman leaving the rat race behind to live in the country has always appealed to me – even back in the late 1980s when this gem of a movie was released (I think I was about 10 years old when I first saw it).

The snow, the trees, the fresh air… absolute heaven 🙂

And what a house!

driveway

Driving to the house…

house

Welcome to the “Baby Boom” house!

bedroom

The bedroom…

night

The “Baby Boom” house at night…

kichen

Making apple sauce by the fire…

table

The kitchen/dining table.

snow

All on a winter’s day…

snowy car

Baby, it’s cold outside…

entrance hall

And it’s cold inside too!

backyard

A view of the house from out back…

kitchen cupboards

Just look at those gorgeous blue cupboards…

window seat

A seat by the living room window…

loungeroom

Absolute bliss!

After scouring Google Maps (I adore Google Maps – especially the Street View feature), I discovered the “Baby Boom” house is actually marked as a tourist attraction. Just outside the township of Peru, Vermont (Main Street actually featured in the movie – the most notable landmarks being the Peru Congregational Church and the JJ Hapgood General Store), it’s nestled among trees at the end of a long dirt driveway.

Capture

An aerial view…

driveway2

The driveway from Google Street View…

And here it is on Google Maps:

Through my meanderings across the net, I discovered this type of house is called a Cape (or Cape Cod) house:

Definitely a style of house I could go for in the future.

Some great links:

baby_boom_house

Standard

One thought on “My favourite things #1: The “Baby Boom” House

  1. Pingback: Diane Keaton's Yellow House in the Movie "Baby Boom"

Leave a Reply

