Musings

And so another year has passed…

Happy New Year

Yes, 2015 has drawn to a close, and 2016 is here.

In the spirit of all things fresh and new, I thought I might try something different on my blog this year. Instead of simply focusing on writing – which I also address on The Print Posse blog – I thought I might write about some of my favourite things. Things that inspire me, things that motivate me, things that make me smile. Some of these things may be movies and books, others, recipes and songs. There’ll probably be a few web pages and poems too, maybe some art.

Spending time in Tassie every year – away from the hustle and bustle of city life – always stokes a flame of reflection and contemplation in my heart. I love going for long walks and dreaming of faraway places I’d love to live one day, places I could steal myself away to and write all the stories percolating inside my mind.

Just like this gorgeous stone house in Ontario...

Just like this gorgeous stone house in Ontario…

I’m generally a happy person and I think the reason for this is because I cling to goals and dreams – goals and dreams that keep me motivated and working hard even when working hard is the last things I want to do, when the days seem to drag on endlessly, when I feel chained to my seat in front of the keyboard with no release in sight. Simply knowing I’m working my way towards something wonderful is enough for me. I don’t have to have it now – I just need to know one day I might be able to make it a reality. Patience, that’s my motto, and persistence – because I know time always flies by, and before I know it, the years will have passed and I’ll be living that future I’m working so hard right now to create. Barring any unforeseen calamities, that is – but I don’t like to dwell on such things, not for too long anyway 😀

So, here’s to a brand new year – a year of dreams and wishes.

snowfall

And maybe while reading about mine, you’ll find a few of your own…

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

