Uncategorized

Twitter Pitch Experiment…

For an update – please click HERE

Over the next two weeks, three exciting pitch events are happening on Twitter – #PitMad, #PitchMAS and #SFFpit.

In a Twitter pitch event, writers summarise their completed manuscripts into 140 character pitches and then fire them out on Twitter every half-hour or so. Throughout the day, agents and publishers browse the pitch event hash tags, and if a particular pitch intrigues them, they favourite it, inviting the writer to query.

This year will be my first time participating so I’m going to approach them as a learning experiment.

I have compiled 14 different pitches for The Mark of the Cagairáin. Now I understand writers commonly prepare one or two pitches and rotate them throughout the day. My problem is that I have so many and I’m not sure which pitches are good and which ones are bad (and which ones our downright horrific) – some have stakes in them, others are plain old hooks. So I thought, hey, why not put them all out there and see if I get success with any of them?

They do say the best way to learn is to do and fail (and fail and fail and fail)… don’t they????

Thank you, Cordy...

Thank you, Cordy…

So, without further ado, please put your hands together for my 14 Twitter pitch candidates, going live this December 4 on #PitMad:

2200 sunsets since he was stolen from her, 6000 miles wedged between them, and all it took to bring him back was a whisper. #PitMad #YA

To save her clan, Boudica must choose: turn her back on the lad who betrayed her, or accept his offer to help harness her powers #PitMad #YA

Boudica doesn’t know she’s a whisperer until the undead come a-courting, coveting her heart & the power pulsing through her veins#PitMad #YA

Cute boys in kilts. Witches harbouring secrets. Monsters masquerading as friends. Life’s complicated when you’re the Whisperer. #PitMad #YA

A gripping love story about a girl who can tame the undead with her words & the boy who chose to became undead to keep her safe. #PitMad #YA

17yo Boudica must join forces with the boy who betrayed her heart to defeat a power-hungry baobhan sith bent on possessing her. #PitMad #YA

When the monsters who massacred her people find her, Boudica must embrace her ancient powers or risk losing everyone she loves. #PitMad #YA

To save her clan, Boudica must harness the power buried within herself. If only she knew if she could trust the lad she loves. #PitMad #YA

Some people can tame horses, others can sweet-talk hounds, but 17yo Boudica can bring vampires to their knees…with a whisper #PitMad #YA

A sentimental Scottish lassie & a cute vampire in a kilt must join forces to defeat the monster who massacred her family. #PitMad #YA

She thought he came back because he loved her, but then she discovered his secret, and the truth behind her parents’ massacre. #PitMad #YA

In a world where hellhounds roam & witches harbour secrets, the survival of an entire clan rests with a simple smithy’s daughter #PitMad #YA

Something old & evil is stalking Boudica, & picking off her loved ones one by one, all because she’s the last vampire whisperer. #PitMad #YA

When 17yo Boudica is savaged by a hellhound, she’s forced to question her childhood sweetheart’s motives and her own identity. #PitMad #YA

Of course, if anyone is willing to offer feedback re: which they think are the best and which are the most-cringeworthy, please share 🙂 As I said, this is all a learning exercise for me and I ain’t too proud to take criticism (just please be gentle)…

Otherwise, be sure to check back here later in the week when I post the results of my experiment.

Fingers crossed one of my darlings receives at least one request 😀

Standard

14 thoughts on “Twitter Pitch Experiment…

  1. Argh, I am so new to this. I didn’t know these were on…It’s a great idea to tweet more than one, and I hadn’t thought of this! Have you got a blurb so I can get a feel for the book and then I can choose one? 🙂 It’s funny isn’t it, how you can say the same thing in so many different ways. I have no experience, but I hear that agents like to see the problem and what’s at stake as well get a feel for the character..Not much to ask is it? hehe Good luck!

    • Thanks Lorelle! You should definitely try these pitch events some time too – I really liked your 140 character story on #supaqwc – it would be perfect as a pitch.

      This is the mini synopsis I use in my query letters:

      Twenty-two hundred sunsets since he was stolen from her, six thousand miles wedged between them, and all it took to bring him back was a whisper. What a pity he wasn’t the only one listening.

      Seventeen-year-old Boudica MacLean is no ordinary Scottish lassie. While her friends are gossiping and flirting with boys, Boudica is preoccupied with curious marks materialising on her neck, grotesque ravens lurking outside her bedroom window, and deflecting the advances of a man she doesn’t even know she’s betrothed to. She’s also busy sneaking around with the boy she thought she’d lost forever, Aiden MacEachan.

      Returned to the bonny shores of Scotland after six years in the exotic East, Aiden is no longer the lively lad she remembers. He’s a boy on the verge of manhood, haunted by the ghost of his father and driven to rekindle the friendship he and Boudica once shared. When she is brutally savaged by a hellhound, Boudica discovers he’s also harbouring a devastating secret. Aiden is a vampire, and the real reason he came back was to seduce her and persuade her to run away with him to Macau where he would deliver her to his kin. Why? Because Boudica is the last Cagairáin, an ancient race of whisperers. To the immortal undead, this makes her the most coveted human in the Highlands – for to sire Boudica is to acquire power over all other vampires.

      Now, while a power-hungry baobhan sith picks off her loved ones, one by one, Boudica must decide whether to turn her back on the lad who betrayed her trust, or accept his offer to help her harness her erratic powers. The worst part is, the monster bent on possessing her is someone she holds dear to her heart, she just doesn’t realise it yet.

      • Alrighty. I still love this one the most: To save her clan, Boudica must choose: turn her back on the lad who betrayed her, or accept his offer to help harness her powers.
        I had a look on this site http://dianaurban.com/pitmad-pitch-practice-12-4-14 and I think it will help both of us. They critique twitter pitches and can probably help us question our own 🙂 From what I can gather, the pitches need to be pretty specific.

        On another of Diana Urban’s sites she mentions you need to include: When (main character) is ( obstacle) he/she must ( do something) or else ( consequences).
        So If I apply that to yours, you could say, a 17yo instead of Boudica for MC. The consequence is that her clan will die. What she must do? Trust the boy who betrayed her to harness her powers? And the obstacle? My question is: If she turns her back on him, can she also save her clan? Will both of these options help save her clan or only one?
        I hope this helps 🙂 I’m a novice at this, but I’m only trying to apply with Diana has said.

        On a sidenote – my book is also about a girl reunited with her childhood crush/friend who comes back very different and dangerous 🙂 Look at us! I just have to add that in a pitch somehow…I’m not sure if I’ll jump in this round. I’m too drained after the weekend pitching ( which I now see was way too general, but thank you for the generous feedback!), and I haven’t written for months 😦
        Good luck! I hope to read it someday 🙂

      • How amazing that our novels have such a similar theme! I would love to know more about yours… Thank you so much for taking the time to read my pitches and mini synopsis and give me such valuable feedback – it is such a help!

      • Oo, well hows about something to the effect of : In 18c Scotland, a 17yo witch must save her clan by harnessing her powers, but it means trusting the boy who betrayed her.
        But in the beautiful way that you write, of course 🙂 Okay, I’ll stop now. I was just really enjoying working out obstacles and consequences 🙂

      • Oh wow! That is amazing – I love it 🙂 I just watched this great live event with Brenda Drake online and now I am rethinking my pitches big time. It’s just so hard to know what to do… But I really do love what you have come up with – it totally embodies my novel! Are you sure you haven’t done this before?

      • Haha nope. I only worked with your original pitch and moved things around. I’ve been working on mine all day and can’t get it right 😦 Let me know when you write some more! Boo hoo about #supaqwc 😦 See, I don’t really have a clue !

  2. Keep up the good work. My best advice to you is to craft as many as you can. It’ll give you the freedom to choose which one seems right at the moment. Having too many is better than not having enough.

Leave a Reply

