Uncategorized

Absence makes the heart grow fonder…

It’s been a while since I last posted, but I assure you, it’s for very good reason… I’m deep in the throes of final revision – three chapters down, nineteen left to go! I know, three chapters doesn’t sound like much – it doesn’t even feel like much. In fact, it feels like an enormous mountain looms before me and I’ve only taken the first few steps to cross it. But believe me, it really is significant! It means I am three whole chapters closer to finishing my novel for good, querying agents, and getting published! Woohoo! And let me tell you, after all this time, it feels amazing 🙂

Gotta love Finn and Jake... And there's the worm king at the bottom of the mountain - just like me! :D

Gotta love Finn and Jake… And there’s the Giant Worm King at the bottom of the mountain – just like me! 😀

I won’t be posting much (if at all) in the next few weeks – or more likely, the next few months – as every tiny speck of time I manage free up for writing will be dedicated to editing. But I thought I’d share with you some exciting and immensely helpful tools I’ve come across so far during this final revision process…

1. Pdf-Notes

I’m staying at my parents house at the moment for the Christmas break, which is wonderful because I have an amazing writing area to retreat to as well as Daddy and Grandparents help with the kids (which gives me some extra time for writing). Unfortunately, my father’s printer is prehistoric (it takes about two minutes to print one page and then, between pages, it likes to make heavy breathing noises for another two minutes before it prints the second page. And so on. And so on. And so on.Aaurgh!!!

As I’m sure you can appreciate, this is not good news for someone who is doing multiple edits for each chapter and needs to read a clean version after every edit!

The solution? Pdf-Notes!

An app for my iPad, it enables me to read and edit my manuscript on my iPad just like I would on a hard copy print-out! Using a stylus I purchased from Dick Smith for $15, I can now edit over and over again on as many new versions of my chapter as I want (or need) without having to print out a single page 😀 Yay!

2. Pro Writing Aid

This beauty forms a part of my line-editing arsenal (fyi. line-editing is the very last thing I tackle in my editing process).

I have my own list of things I look for when line-editing, of course (like -ly words, passive writing, telling rather than showing, etc.) But there comes a time when my incredible skills reach their limit of effectiveness (hard to believe, I know… but unfortunately it is the truth).

That’s when Pro Writing Aid comes into play! It locates things my mere human eyes only dream of noticing, especially repeated words and phrases. And it double-checks all the things on my list too, which is an added bonus.

As some of you might know, there is another online editing program available that many writers recommend – Autocrit. I tried the test editor for this software too and found it to be just as helpful. But there were a two things that tipped me over the line towards Pro Writing Aid. Firstly, the cost (PWA is free). Secondly, word count is unlimited (The cheapest subscription on Autocrit is $47 for a maximum word count of 1000 words per submission. Even though you can submit as many times as you like, I find that it’s not very effective for finding repeated words and phrases in complete chapters when you are analysing only 1000 words at a time. Of course, you can always pay more for the higher word limits).

Both of these tools are amazing and I recommend them to anyone who is in the process of editing. I can definitely say they have made my life so much better! And how many things can you say that about?

Anyways, back to the grindstone I go…

Wish me luck!

Oh, and by the way – here is an updated photo of my writing retreat 🙂

My writing retreat in Tasmania...

My writing retreat in Tasmania…

If I don’t post again til I get there – see you on the other side!

Standard

2 thoughts on “Absence makes the heart grow fonder…

  1. Your writing retreat looks idyllic – that view! It must be an incredible feeling to know you are so close to finishing your novel completely, I look forward to reading it someday 🙂 Thank you for sharing the revision tools you have found useful – I’ll definitely be looking into using them in the future. Like you, I sometimes feel like the Worm King at the bottom of the mountain (as well as many other Adventure Time characters) but we will get there eventually. Good luck with your editing!

    • Thanks so much, Melissa! Yes, it is an incredible feeling! And a nerve-wracking one too. That’s the funny thing about writing – you spend hundreds of hours of your life writing a novel and you don’t even know if it will be published in the end! We must be crazy to be writers 😀 but I wouldn’t give it up for the world… I love it too much 😀

Leave a Reply

