Uncategorized

Judging A Book By Its Cover

This week I didn’t get much revision done – I was working on designing book covers instead! I made one red one and one green one – designed around the MacLean hunting and dress tartans.

This is how they turned out…

RED COVER

GREEN COVER

Just so you know, they are not real covers – they are just for fun, and also so I have something to represent my WIP on my website.

I’m still fairly inexperienced with photoshop but I’m really happy with the results. It’s hard to choose which one I like best, although I am leaning towards the red one – I think the colour makes it look a little more sinister…

I used Photoshop CS2 (it’s old, I know – but it’s still good) with the help of a few tutorials (aren’t photoshop tutorials just the best invention ever?):

I found my model on Getty Images (as soon as I saw her, I was like “she is soooooo Boudica MacLean!”). The cursive writing is Jefferson font.

The gorgeous background image is Snowy Branches and a Fence by seabug who most graciously allowed me to use her photograph. As soon as I saw the photo I knew it was perfect – it’s exactly how I see Croakers Alley (a setting in my WIP) in my mind’s eye!

This morning I had the (very exciting) pleasure of uploading them to my website (in 3D book format, might I add):

But now that it’s all done, I have to get back to my revision…

Gotta get the bloody thing finished – there’s no point having covers if I don’t have a book to put between them!

Standard

Leave a Reply

